Desiring/Desired

by Kevin Aditya

In ITB, where I’ve met people from all over the country with various backgrounds, hometowns, characters, and (mostly high) intelligence, one sort of variation that I still cannot fully comprehend is motivation. Upon observation, there are two kinds of people whose motives for struggling to be admitted into ITB in the first place (and continue struggling for the upcoming years) are polar in its entirety:

1. The ones who base their daily dose of studying and working on shitload of assignments upon hopes of securing a good job with a steadily growing income for years as soon as they graduate.

2. The ones who base their daily dose of studying and working on shitload of assignments upon their own desire to enrich their expertise on the major they are so fondly passionate about; or to put it simply, passion.

As I try to not see the world in plain black and white, I don’t put either one as better to another, and both motives have good moral and personal reasoning when you ask people around. Earning a good monthly sum of money is crucial to survive — literally and figuratively — in this modern world, but without a passion to do it you’ll end up a working class zombie. No, that’s what one would say viewing it as black and white, but the shades of gray of it is called compromising with your idealism. Justifying that your passion can be done as a hobby or a side job doesn’t always turn up wrong, and neither is pursuing only what you like without thinking twice about your future. Everything has its own good and bad measures, and finding the middle ground is what settles some people into what they are majoring now. Studying urban planning gives me good insight on how people can find that middle ground in the right place — a noble passion to make cities and rural areas better for everyone, with the still-intact hopes to work at good firms or government divisions. And while obviously not everyone would end up working in the fields they are majoring in, there would be some that devote their career to the subject despite not earning enough to afford huge houses or luxury cars. Different goals will lead  to different paths taken.

 

Of course, it's never as easy as it sounds.

 

Care enough to elaborate your opinions on this rambling, dear reader?

8 Comments to “Desiring/Desired”

  1. First of all, I like the title of this entry because the wordplay is witty and somehow, made me giggle.

    Anywayyyy… 😛

    I am one of those people who sees the world in black and white until I have to choose between what I want and what I need. For instance, I just made a major decision on what major I’m going for college. My heart wants A, but after considering different aspects, I have to go with B. It’s not far off, but still. Between what I like and what I have to do. I thought I was running away from my dream and yadda yadda yadda, but I realized I just have to take a much twisted road to get to my destination. The process is what matters, right? I’m crossing my fingers that I’m choosing the process.

    • You have a damn good point there. The path one wants is never clear as day… unless you’re either a genius or have a tremendous luck. I think sometimes it’s better to go along with what I want without thinking too much. I wish I don’t habitually think too much. Not that considering is a bad thing… it’s a matter of perspective. Anyway good luck with your upcoming study!

  2. Hello, Kev.
    If there was a Like button on the bottom of your post, I would’ve pressed it, Kev. This writing of yours somehow reminds me of my own intention in writing things related to ITB. Sadly, I didn’t have enough free time to turn my thoughts about the hectic life of ITB students or the environment itself to words which I could put in one of my Tumblr posts (I’m blogging frequently there now) later.

    “Justifying that your passion can be done as a hobby or a side job doesn’t always turn up wrong, and neither is pursuing only what you like without thinking twice about your future.”

    I agree with this sentence. I myself have experienced black and white moments in my first time studying in ITB. I felt that I was only wasting my time in choosing SITH that everyone said as a ‘bridge’ for me to get a bright future and good job. But later, exactly since I became a Biology student officially, Alhamdulillah, I found that I was still able to do things related to what I was so passionate about. I could pursue and improve my photography skill, and even I found new dreams by learning and studying things related to nature through being a Biology student.

    I’m happy hearing that you gained some new things while being an urban planning student. I hope both of us could reach our own dreams and make it true someday. Success for both of us!

    P.S : Don’t forget to pray, Kev. Always remember that there’s still God who gave you all of this pleasant things.

    :))

    • There is actually a like button there, you know. :p I’m glad you’ve found the middle ground of doing what you like and what you are currently studying, and I guess most people out there have found it as well, so why do I bother writing this post? I hope there are actually some ITB graduates that become scientists…. kidding. I doubt it because I can’t ever comprehend the guys who actually took a heavy liking into maths and physics, how could they do it for the rest of their lives??? Uhm sorry for the morning ramblers, I just woke up.

  3. LOL LOL.
    There were actually ITB graduates who became real scientists and it’s very possible if you’re talking about graduates from Faculty of Math and Science, including SITH (well, I guess it separated from FMIPA because it’s developing some engineering-related things in its new majors, Microbiology and Bioengineering). Well, those graduates mostly chose being a scientist because there were many scholarship in doing research which came from mostly European countries like England and Germany (both countries have a great reputation in doing research, and fyi, recently, Europe made a breaktrough in science. They cured a guy with AIDS by growing stem cells inside his body).

    Talking about uncapable in understanding guys who are deeply ‘in love’ with math and physics, I’m also just like you. But as a human who have limits in knowing something, I don’t think too much about those people. Whenever I think about how do they love math and physics so much (and sometimes think about how weird they are), I think about people who are standing behind the real scenes of life. They’re the scientists, who are likely be the pioneer of inventions, developing countries, etc. They don’t even care about whether people would thank them or not (scientist who invented stem cells didn’t even receive direct thanks for people that they indirectly cured). It’s just like Biologists who are trying to save the animals from extinction (well, animals can’t say thank you, right?).

    So, I think at least we just have to let those lover of math & physics lives. Because as long as the world have people like them, I’m sure things going to be alright. Without those people, ITB too wouldn’t have enough lecturers who teach science and math, right? :B :B

    That was my opinion :))

  4. You’re truly one of that working class zombies.

    I remember once a person came up with a question : “After college question : are you looking for a job or are you looking for money?” Some people may seek jobs not with their true passionate feelings so they will end up like.. very ordinary and make no progress for themselves. I just think that it might actually happen with people whose motives are just, ordinary, as well. Question, are you really into that?

    You really don’t have to feel being tortured by a grand passion for getting an A or 4.0 GPA. You just have to think that you can do better. The only person that knows you best is yourself. I can’t even judge.

    I may think perfectionism is needed but not too exaggerating. Can be your motive also.

    Best of luck dear.

Leave a Reply

